M1 and M6 Hardware
 M1 or Maxxyz Compact?
 Forum Locked
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

salamagd

8 Posts

Posted - 17 Jun 2013 :  09:04:59  Show Profile
Hi guys,

Apologies that I couldn't really find an impartial forum to post this in - it was either the M1 or Maxxyz forum. I'm looking to get a new console mainly for my own use, I'm a freelance lighting designer mainly working on community and amateur musical theatre productions. Previously I've mostly used competitors' desks, but never owned my own, and I've started playing around with the M-PC software and decided it seemed like a good way to go.

As it stands, I have the option to purchase either a used M1 or Maxxyz Compact for around the same price - the M1 is newer and possibly in slightly better condition, but it looks like the Maxxyz Compact is a higher-end console so thought I should consider it as well. I'd be very interested to hear people's recommendations between the two consoles - I'll mostly be using them in a theatre setting with a single main cuelist, controlling a few dozen LED lights and moving lights, and up to 120 dimmer channels.

Thanks - any help would be greatly appreciated!
Giancarlo

mzagarn

810 Posts

Posted - 17 Jun 2013 :  09:55:08  Show Profile
We have both in hire. I like the compact and think it is a great console. it is just big and heavy in theater shows i use this. In rock busking shows i use the m1. Might also be worth looking at the m2go.
Go to Top of Page

Jirwind

278 Posts

Posted - 17 Jun 2013 :  20:55:16  Show Profile
M6 :D....

M1, do not think
Go to Top of Page

Joe Bleasdale

274 Posts

Posted - 17 Jun 2013 :  23:00:51  Show Profile
M1 and M6 should be your two serious contenders.

Maxxyz Compact is old hardware and the new software is more suited to the new hardware of M1 and M6.

Thanks.
Go to Top of Page

salamagd

8 Posts

Posted - 18 Jun 2013 :  01:24:39  Show Profile